The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented above rely on certain assumptions that need to be proved to evaluate the veracity of it. It refers to a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States, and some claims are based on what is observed only in one new store in a specific region on a particular year.

Firstly, based on the chain of cheese stores data, it is known that the best selling cheese in a new store opened last year is domestic cheddar cheese from Wiscosin. However, we don´t know if the consumer preferences that we observe in this new store are the same all over US and hence conclude that the best way to increase profitability is to discontinue stock of imported cheese. In order to affirm that claim more data is needed. It would be useful to have sell data by region in US during at least the last 7 years and evaluate consumer trends by region and by type of cheese (domestic and imported). Based on a more comprehensive study we could know with more detail if reduce stock of imported cheese would be or not a good policy to increase profits.

Secondly, it is mentioned a magazine that indicates an increased preference for domestic cheeses among its suscribers. This information is not enough to affirm that reduce stock of imported cheese is a good strategy. Survey carried out by the magazine could not be representative of customers of this specific chain of cheese. For example, this chain may target clients with high purchase power that prefer imported cheese and this is not reflected in the survey that ask people of medium socio-economical levels and hence have different cheese consumer patterns.

Lastly, if the company can reduce expenses by limiting stock, it is not clear why they need to reduce stock specifically of imported cheese. We cannot conclude from the evidence mentioned in the paragraph that imported cheese will have a lower demand in the next quarters. A better way to think about a policy to increase profits would be to improve logistics, trying to anticipate demand on each store based on consumer data and therefore reduce the stock needed to meet the demand. Also, with more data about consumption by region/stores, it can be improved the mix of cheeses in stock and hence reduce the absolute amount of cheese in stock by store.