The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin.

Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo, the business manager gives information about the amount of domestic cheeses sold in the US cheese stores. The manager tries to apply the strategy that could increase profit by using management policy in the inventory and warehousing cycle. Finally, the business manager considers the sales statistics and results of the survey Cheeses of the World magazine and conclusions that domestic cheeses are more beneficial than imported cheeses so suggests the inventory reduction of imported cheeses.

Firstly, the argument assumes the net profit margin of imported cheeses are might equal or less than domestic cheeses, so the company could achieve more profit from selling domestic cheeses in their stores, however it doesn't provide information on the sales of imported cheeses. It might the company gain more profit from selling imported cheeses. For instance, if the company expects the selling price of each kg of imported cheese to be 40 dollars and forecasts average cost per kg includes operating cost, factory overhead costs and other expected costs of about 35 dollars, so by subtracting the above numbers, makes a net income of 5 dollars. If this figure exceeds the net profit of domestic cheeses sales, then the company will make more profit from the sale of imported cheeses even if the numbers of imported cheeses sold are lower than domestic cheeses. The manager has to receive help from strategic cost analysis to reduce imported cheeses, stop them or not, and ignoring it, probably has adverse implications for the company and might suffer losses.

Secondly, based on the customer preferences of the company last year, the manager assumes they will interest to buy domestic cheeses. This memo doesn’t information about old stores. The manager should have more accurate and broader sales volume statistics. For example, preparing a company sales table with different data, including total sales of region, domestic cheeses, imported cheeses for at least 5 years ago. Some locals may wish to consume imported cheeses. The manager should take advantage of decision relevance, reliability, and comparability of information tables. Therefore the company could manage the inventory base on the region's demand. In cities where is a high demand for imported cheeses, warehouse more imported inventories, and vice versa. If the assumption made is incorrect and the company neglects to reduce the number of imported products, it will lose its customers in the future and the interests of the company will be in danger.

Thirdly, the argument states subscribers of the survey by Cheese of the World magazine prefer to consume domestic cheeses and this result is valid. Moreover, it can influence management decisions on the inventory of imported cheeses. The argument doesn’t indicate how many subscribers of the magazine are in the United State. We could not figure out what questions are asked in this survey. Were the cheese options imported among the questions? In which stores of the United States did the survey take place? Perhaps the distribution system of imported cheeses in those palaces has been too weak or nonexistent. Therefore, the manager should get accurate information to be able to decide on the inventory.

In conclusion, the author has made some assumptions that need to be proved. The manager couldn't make the right decision about the profit; to support his or her idea should make more surveys among their stores of the United States.