The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States, the best way to improve profits in all of their stores is to drop stocking many of their varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses as the sale of the domestic cheese was increased the previous year. On deducing the conclusion, the argument takes the last year sales data that states all of the five best-selling kinds of cheese at their newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. however, the argument does not take the following assumptions to make it substantial.

At first, they assume the taste of the consumer will be same in the upcoming years. The taste of the consumer is very volatile as it keeps on changing on moving times. perhaps, the consumer may feel detested of other cheese as they have used it for a long time. So they may want to change the taste of their tongue for a while. Ongoing this trend, it cannot be denied that they will again satisfy with the domestic cheese and they again will tend to consume previously.

Secondly, it fails to mention the price of a different variety of cheeses. it is a universal fact that people tend to consume the less expensive product for their use. perhaps the price of the domestic cheese may be less than other imported cheese. That's why people may have consume more cheese in the USA. however, it is certain that on increasing demand, the price of a commodity increases. if the demand of domestic cheese is increase, its price will increase as well. On increasing price of the cheese, the demand of it may be reversed.

Thirdly, the argument fails to account the availabilty of the cheese in what extent. There is always a rule in economices that if the amount of the commodity available above the demand, its price may again be decreased. if they stored all the domestic cheese in the factory and their is excess of the cheese, they will soon be encountered with loss as the cost price of the cheese for them above than the selling price of the cheese. On the other hand, if they stores only one product, they would certainly lose their product diversity which is essential in meeting preferences of the product of a diverse type.

In conclusion, the argument fails to account this above assumptions before makina g conclusion that makes the argument insubstantial. if they have considered the assumptions, the conclusion taken would have been strong.