The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Clearly the author of the paper has made many assumption in coming to the main conclusion that the best way to improve profits in all of their stores is to discontinue stocking many of their varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses on the premise of the survey result by cheeses of the Word magazine.

The author has made several assumption that are not supported, primarily the assumption that since local cheese are the 5 best selling cheese in their new stores then this could be a reflection of consumer preference without taking into consideration that new stores mean new location and new people with a varied taste preference which could be the reason for the peak in the preference of local cheese so therefore this is not a reflection of a larger population. Also the author does not consider that there might be some underlying factor, ( i.e could it be that there was an increase in price of imported cheese of some form of temporary ban). If the factor changes ith might mean that sales pattern would return to normal.

Furthermore, the argument is also anchored on the fact that the survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers which would have been tenable if this survey had specified the sample population and location coverage. The survey could have been concentrated in a place where people are particular about domestic product or the amount of people surveyed were very scant and in which case would see to the result as unreliable.

Additionally, the author also assumes that increased sales of domestic cheese is tantamount to increased profit without considering the fact that the sudden increase to the request of domestic cheese could cause the prices to sky rocket as the demands pressure might the exacting on the demand supply chain of the domestic cheese market.

Ultimately, the authors argument is weaken due to his/her failure tp directly tie the sudden in burgeon in the preference of domestic cheese to a reliable sample survey or economic phenomenon and so the author could bolster his/her argument if he could show the data of the survey of the cheeses of the World magazine as a holistic analysis of the general preference of people within Wisconsin.