Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Would it be said to be a wise decision to pursue a field in which there is a low chance of success ?

While it is clear that education in it’s self is the bedrock of any country as it is the breeding point of people to consummate ingenuity for the benefit of humanity, it could also have negative effects if not well thought out.

Firstly, it should be a moral duty of educational institutions to counsel and advice the leaders they hope to build and a good way to start is by directing them on the current trends in the world and profession so as to help them define which fields are lucrative based on the individual’s capacities so they are marketable upon completion of their degree. It is a very familiar event when seen in many developing countries for students haven spent so much mentally and financially investing in an unmarketable field end up with no job prospects leading to a change in career part which could have been avoided thereby saving addition money spent on fee.

Although there is a saying that “no knowledge is lost” and founded upon the the fact that one way or the other there is always usefulness in any knowledge attained whether obvious or not. It is also clear that the time arduous time spent in school pursuing a field that is unpropitious could have been time spent using one’s intuition and ingenuity to change the world as shown in the lives of notables live Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Michael Jackson amongst others.

Moreso, since is could be said that beyond the development of mind, knowledge and character one of the major essence for pursing a field of study is to be able to live at a good standard while utilizing craft from training. If a student is allowed a to pursue a career that is less likely to succeed this essence would have been defeated and this would in return lead to dissatisfaction and sometimes regret and having to figure out one’s part in life based on conceiveable setbacks.

Ultimately, it is without any doubt that is most important for educational institutions to guide against wrong choices in fields less likely to succeed been that they are in the best possible since they have a good interface with the society and vice-versa.