The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While the writer maintains that the change in margarine has not had an impact on the customers, he does affirm on what dish, or if he made a research on this concern. A research to find out if the customers noticed the change, if there is something else they are more particular about.

Although the writer mentions that 2 percent of customers have complained, he doesn’t state whether he had done a studies with a questionnaire with related questions to define the position of a sample of 100 customers.

Additionally, the writer concludes that customers are happy since only 2 percent of customers have complained indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy might not be reliable since this might have been all on the first day of change from butter to margarine.

Since the amount of sample people upon which the conclusion was made are just 100, it can not be be a good sample representation of the people who live in southwestern Unites States are 100 is an minute sample in a region of millions of inhabitants.

Even though few customers complain when given margarine instead of butter there is no evidence of the effect of either choosing between butter or margarine in terms of what bye product will be served to the customers at the end.

In conclusion, It would have been better if the writer had carried out a study of a larger sample of people across all Happy pancake house Restaurant in the Southwestern United states so as to get a more reliable and holistic overview of the customers preference.