The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The restaurant owner has made a trivial change in their recipe, i.e. they have replaced the use of butter with margarine. Not many customers complain about this change so the restaurant manager thinks that the customers are not able to distinguish between butter and margarine or they are least interested with either ingredient.However this might not be the possible explanation for the customers reaction and I propose the following explanations.

Butter or margarine might look different but they might have a similar taste.So whenever a customer asks for butter, the restaurant might be giving margarine in such a way that the customer might not know whether it is butter or margarine since they taste similar and the customer thus must be relishing the taste without actually knowing the real ingredient. This might as well happen if the restaurant has an expertise in garnishing the dish so well as to deceive the customers.

Another explanation could be the customers might have come to the restaurant for a important meeting with some officials and thus they are unaware about the dish they are eating. They must be so engrossed in their meeting that they pay less heed to what they are eating and hence they cannot make out the difference between butter and margarine.

The restaurant might be receiving customers other than their own native. Butter and margarine might have been used frequently in their respective native and thus they practically do not care whether they are being served butter or margarine. They must be familiar with both the ingredients and thus are little affected by the abrupt change the restaurant went into.

From the above explanations it could be evident why the customers had little impact of the restaurants change. Furthermore the explanations provided by the author could not clearly explain the reason why customers are not affected by the change and are clearly vague explanations.