College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Landing a perfect job in this competitive world has become extremely difficult. A student should be extremely well versed in the field in which he/she wants to do a job. For this to happen students should like the subject they choose, so I strongly corroborate that college students should choose their field of study solely on their personal interests and not on the availability of jobs.

The growth of a company depends on the performance of its employees. If they do not apply all their brains to the job, the company’s progress is going to be affected. This is possible only if the employer loves his/her job. In the current era IT industry is burgeoning. For this reason most students choose computer science as their field of study in graduation course even if their interests lie in other subjects. They may land a good paying job but they can never be able to give their 100% to their work. This leads to stress and increasing hatred for the job thus, jeopardizing oneself and company’s growth as well. One’s job should be complacent and not self destructing.

The monopoly of an industry is not perennial. One decade might see growth of an industry and the next decade might see a decline in that industry. Students cannot completely rely on the availability of jobs in that period because the situation can be reversed at any time. This issue may be explained with the example of CFC producing industries. This chemical is deleterious for the ozone layer, in fact because of CFC, there is a hole in the ozone layer over the Antarctic. This led to movements against the use of CFC. All this caused the CFC producing industries to decline their production and thus over a mean time bringing the ratio of number of it’s industries from 100 to 1. This caused a huge loss for students who did specialization in the subject and had hoped to land a job in this industry for life. Thus students not only lost their job but also regretted doing a job for many years which was not even satisfying for oneself.

It is true that getting a job in this never stopping world is important and one should always strive to be in the competition, but will this truly make oneself happy? Mental health is equally important for a good living and doing a job just for the sake of money will just deteriorate it.

So I strongly believe that students should choose a field of study based on their interests and not on the availability of jobs in that field.