Essay topic 30: College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This assertion that college students should choose their field of study in accordance with the available relevant job opportunities has highly concentrated on job purposes while neglecting the essence of education. I concede to prioritize job opportunities while choosing a field of study but the essence of education could be neglected.

Firstly, financial aspects of education play a vital role in choosing a field of study at college. There are wide ranges of majors available for college students but all these majors do not provide job opportunities equally. Therefore, choosing a major at colleges should be based on available job opportunities. For instance, IT and programming are highly paid and required in job market. Nevertheless, majors like history and literature do not provide the graduated students with job positions. Such graduates would be either unemployed or less paid.

The fact that interest in a major should be taken into consideration while choosing a job is important cannot be ignored. Since an interest in a major may motivate and inspire their graduates to be successful. For instance, Mozart followed his passion for music and took the field of music. He was really successful and turned to an outstanding artist who is widely recognized. There are also numerous unsuccessful artists that cannot meet their rudimentary needs. If they had studied a different major, they could have found well paid jobs.

Some may also argue that the original purposes of education is to get people educated which means that teaching people how to think, peruse issues and find out solutions to problems and eventually become a better human being. The essence of college education should be regarded just as true education rather than a fast way to get high paid jobs as naturally we would like to learn, think critically and flourish human civilization.

Besides, priority should not be given to individual’s interest. Studen

ts should follow their dreams for a safe future. In most cases, students should combine their interest for a specific area of study and the expectations of certain financial reward in the future career. For example, taking the field of medicine could be a reasonable choice as some can prioritize his passion to save human’s life and it also can support him financially.

In conclusion, it is very important to choose subjects which have a future and sense of security. One should be prudent enough to recognize the value of a course and their future applicability. However, interests and talents as well as knowledge gain must be taken into consideration.