Essay topic 25: In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To be successful and make positively considerable contributions in any field of endeavor, a sufficient contribution of knowledge, ability, passion, experience and expertise are required. Therefore, the assertion that novices make significant contributions than experts does not hold true generally, though, there may be exceptions.

To begin with, many fields like science, mathematics and philosophy require technological background. An expert has the basic understanding of the field of inquiry to enable him make a contribution in that area. To illustrate this, let us consider the example of science which needs at least deep knowledge of math, preceding theories and the functioning of the scientific method which are vague to a novice that most likely make it impossible for him to make a great contributions to science. Majority of scientists have spent many years of hard research in their fields to make contributions to the science later. For instance, Albert Einstein could not have proposed the Theory of Relativity if he had not probed the previous scientists’ research and knowledge in that area.

This could also be true for other fields like philosophy. In order to develop an acceptable philosophical perspective, one should know the theories and views of prior philosophers to acquire the relevant concepts which need lot of efforts and time. As a result, he could make a contribution in his field.

In contrast, it is argued that the above claim is convincing about talented people. Mozart, for instance, has made great contributions to music by composing significant music since he was young. Avecnia, a great Persian scientist, is another example of this phenomenon. He began learning and studying about various fields such as astronomy, math, science and medicine. He wrote multitude books in the area of medicine which are currently taught in highly prestige universities throughout the world.

In conclusion, to make important contributions in any field of inquiry requires in-depth knowledge of the field and experience and research which are gained by spending interminable hard work and efforts in that area. Thus, novices are unable to make remarkable contributions in any field expect talented people.