In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this contemporary world, new researches and studies are taking place everyday and the technologies are advancing as we speak of it. The claim prompts that in any field, often a novice is more likely to come up with a vital contribution than an expert. I disagree with this claim and feel that even though beginners have unorthodox thinking, and often come up with unique ideas, it is almost always under the supervision of an expert and they are the ones that help in refining the idea.

Firstly, Experts are called so because of a reason -- they are the people who have undergone rigorous years of study and research in their respective fields and are well acquianted with their subject of interest. The extensive research provides these experts with experience and knowledge, which is very important when it comes to understanding the intricacies of a topic. For instance, the highly renowned chemist Madam Curie, was herself a chemistry professor who had been researching for many years in her field before making a breakthrough discovery -- 'discovering radioactivity in elements'. As you gain experience, you become more comfortable with understanding abstruse topics, which further helps in making important contributions.

Admittedly, it can be argued that, often tyros are the ones to come up with revolutionary ideas due to their heterodox thinking. But it is forgotten that, these ideas often are formulate and nurtured under the supervision of an expert. The expert is the one who provides the right techniques and methods to go about solving a difficult problem. Also, the beginners get to learn a lot under the experts about the subject. Consider an example where we have a student who is not well acquainted with physics and he has no one to guide him. Without proper guidance, how can we expect him to understand highly convoluted topics like the 'String theory' and work on them to make new discoveries. Experts are the foundation for the formation of critical thinking in a student, which may later help the student to make important advancements in the subject.

Therefore, eventhough it is argued that novices are the ones that come up with important contributions due to their radical thinking and enthusiasm and eagerness to learn about the subject. More often than not, it is because of the efforts and guidance of an expert that a inchoate idea turns into a full grown revolutionary idea. Therefore, it is safe to say that experts are often the ones that are more likely to make important contributions in their field.