Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

According to the prompt, creativity should be considered as the only correct parameter to judge a person's intelligence. I disagree with the statement provided and believe that although, creativity is a very important aspect while judging one's intellect, other important factors shouldn't be neglected.

A creative mind is a home to revolutionary ideas. In other words, a person with unorthodox thinking has the ability to come up with ideas which can change the world in a meaningful way. For example, Thomas Edison, who was a very mediocre student in school, had a very creative mind. Edison had over a 1000 patents under his name and is considered probably one of the most revered inventors in the 20th century. Even though a person might not be good at studies, he might have very heterodox thinking which makes him different and intelligent in his own way.

Another example can be of Steve Jobs, who was the founder and CEO of Apple Inc. He had no prior coding experience, but had a clear vision in his mind. Due to that reason, he was able to create one of the biggest brand in Technology.

However, creativity should not be the only criteria to measure intelligence of a person. People are not always gifted with a creative mind, but they compensate for it with their hard-work and diligence. For instance, the CEO of Alphabet inc, Sundar Pichai, is one person who rose up in ranks due to his consistent hard-work, and eventually became the CEO of alphabet inc., the parent company of Google. When judging a person's cognitive abilities, one should not only take into account his creative thinking, but should also consider other qualities.

Intelligence is the ability to acquire knowledge and use that knowledge in an effective manner. It is not always about devising a new idea. For instance, consider an example of a dancer and a surgeon. A dancer is known for his creativity, while the surgeon is known for his finesse in performing a surgery. A surgeon doesn't need to be creative in doing his work. But this doesn't mean that the surgeon is less intelligent than the dancer. A surgeon is intelligent in his own way and is very good at performing his own job even if he is less creative than the dancer.

Hence, creativity, although, a very important aspect in judging one's cognitive ability, is not the only parameter to judge one's intelligence. Intelligence is a combination of various qualities and is not as uni-dimensional as the statements claims it to be.