If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prompt suggests that if two equally qualified people are applying for a specific job, the company should hire the one with more experience. I agree with this claim as with experience, comes good decision making skills and more efficiency.

First of all, it is almost always advantageous to hire a person with experience over an inexperienced one as that person knows what he is doing and this reduces the chances of making mistakes that often a novice would make. Would you trust the control of a multi-million dollar company over an inexperienced person or would you rather prefer someone with some years of experience in the field be in charge? A person with experience knows what he is trying to do due to their astute decision making skills. For instance, we often see small start-ups fail due to problems in their management. These problems often start as small, petty problems but later exacerbates due to wrong decisions taken by an often inexperienced group of people. On the contrary, consider the example of Sundar Pichai -- Google's CEO. He had a plethora of experience in field before he took over the helm as Google's CEO.

Secondly, with years of experience comes trust. An experienced person is well versed with the requirements of his job and how to perform his tasks in a professional manner. Just having a specific qualification doesn't mean that the person know's how to apply his skills in a proper and efficient manner. It is with experience that a person learns how to actually work in an efficient manner and be productive to his organization. For example, consider a case where we have a fresh college Graduate with a Computer Science degree and a professional in the field of Computer science who has five years of experience. Even though both have the same qualifications on paper, it is the latter who knows how to actually work in the industry. The former would have to be taught about the nitty-gritties of the job before he can understand his work properly and start contributing to his organization.

Admittedly, it can be agreed that sometimes fresh faces can come up with brilliant ideas, for example, Steve Jobs, who had no prior experience in coding came up with a revolutionary idea of Apple Inc. But, we shouldn't forget that experience always makes you wiser and thus helps you take the right decisions.