If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Experience teaches you many things. Then it very well maybe a positive experience or a negative experience. But one thing is sure that something useful would obviously be gained from it. The idea that the job should go to an applicant having more experience in case both the applicants have the same academic qualification is to a certain degree agreeable for the following reasons.

Nowadays in the ever growing market flourishing with new opportunities and with numerous applicants available for a single position, the company in order to stay in the competition should definitely give the job to a person with more experience. For instance, consider a job in the certain industry which totally works on skills required for craftsmanship, two applicants with equal qualifications apply for an opening. The only criteria for differentiating between them are the amount of experience both of them have. The hiring committee would definitely prefer the person who is working in similar industry for past few years rather a graduate who has just completed his or her education or someone with less experience. The amount of experience a person has would have a great impact on his or her working in the company. As the person is already exposed and accustomed as to how things work there will not be a problem for him to catch up to the required standards of the company’s employees.

Another important factor for deciding who to give the job is the training required to work in the company. The person with no experience has no practical idea to know how the industries actually work. Although the place from where he graduated may have tried to give some idea about the status quo of the companies, the company still would be compelled to give him or her training before they could start any actual work which generates revenues for the company. Thus the precious time and money of the institution is wasted which otherwise would have been saved if they had selected a person with experience in the field. He would not have to undergo training and would start working as soon he completes his joining.

However, as intriguing it would seem to give a job to more experienced applicant, it would not always be a great path to follow. There are many fields of work which do not require skills or any kind of experience to start working efficiently. In such a case providing the job to a more experienced person may or may not be a beneficial move for the company. For example a software developing company would very well like to employ someone who has more knowledge about the subject at hand rather an experienced person with lesser knowledge comparatively. This is just one example; there are many more industries which do not rely completely on experience and would still like to look out for a more informative applicant.

In spite of all the various thought processes given to the idea, one still requires a comprehensive understanding about the topic. As it remains a complex issue, there are no easy answers for the whole idea of always preferring a more experienced person over a person with little or no experience.