If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The job market in any country always prefers the person with more experience but I think the person with less experience should be given chance also. So, I am standing against the prompt here. There are certain other qualities to distinguish between two applicants. In my opinion, two applicants can not be totally equally qualified or equal in all respect other than experience.

If the employer always looks for the applicant with more experience then the applicant with less experience or the fresher will never get a chance to showcase their skill set. Though it is completely dependent upon the employers that which type of employee he wants. There is a matter of profit from any job so the employers try to hire the most experienced ones. But, if the inexperienced ones are never given a chance to be experienced then it will be a severe injustice to them.

Here, it is mentioned that the applicants are equally qualified. They may be equally qualified but as a person they can't be same. They must have distinguishable features such as honesty, punctuality etc. The employers should anyhow check those qualities to select the better one. The 'experience' should not be the only measure for the eligible one, I guess. Because, for a successful business in any job the employers must be honest, hardworking, punctual, skilled etc. So, if the less experienced one is more honest, hardworking and punctual than the more experienced one; the less experienced one must be offered the job without any doubt.

Apart from personal traits there are also other things to look for in an employee such as communication skill, leadership quality, creativity etc. If these traits are present in the less experienced one but absent in the more experienced one then, definitely the less experienced one is more eligible for the job, I think. There is always a chance to fire the employee who is not doing justice to the place he is given. That is why I think, the less experienced one should be given chance and if they fail to fulfill the demands then employers can fire him. But, if they are never offered a chance then they will always be inexperienced.

We must keep in mind that the most experienced applicant was once 'inexperienced'. He was given an opportunity to be experienced by someone. So, we can never do injustice to a skilled applicant just because he has less experience. We have to measure them in all respects. Only experience can't be an issue. Their academic records as well as the other traits mentioned above should be the benchmark for an eligible applicant.