The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Leadership is a very desired quality for any field, be it government, industry or any other field. We know that a boat can not sail alone; it needs a boatman. Same thing goes for any kind of institution. That's why a leader is so important for any nation. Leader guides his troops to a proper direction. The author stated that, the best way for preparing it for the young people is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. But, I can not agree with this statement.

Cooperation is a great virtue for anyone because man can not survive all the tough situations in his life. He needs cooperative people around him to get rid of those hard phases. For instance- we have finished our college life, in our country students go to private tutors besides school but there is no option for this kind of private tuition in college level. Because, in college level tutors do not offer private tuition. So, there comes the need of a friend who is very cooperative, who stays beside anyone when the other one is finding difficulties in studies. But, this idiosyncrasy alone can not grow the quality of leadership, I guess. There obviously needs something called competition.

Competition is a kind of feeling when people strive for excellence, when they want to be eminent. And, only competition can not make someone a good leader. There needs a commensurate mixture of other traits also including cooperation. But, competition is very necessary in a sense that the success of that group is contingent upon the leader. Because, if the leader himself is not competitive enough then the members of the group will not be competitive as well. That is why importance of being competitive as a leader is sky-high. So, the society should try to instill both cooperation and competition in young people to prepare them for leadership.

A good leader is cooperative because he stands by every member of his group in their good or bad time. For example- captain of a team back his teammates at any moment. And, a leader is competitive because he want to be the best. For instance- a competitive captain of a team will definitely want his team to be on the top and he will guide his team accordingly.

It is not apocryphal at all that just cooperation can not engender a good leader. There have to be an amalgam of other virtues including 'competition'. So, the society should train their young generation in a way that they become both cooperative and competitive. Thus they can give rise to a true leader.