'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from the business manager states that their news program devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. And, the viewers complained about the coverage of their local and weather news. It is quite relevant that if the viewers can not find enough information of their desired things then they will complain.

It is mentioned that over the past year they have devoted more time to national news and less time to local and weather news. That means, before the past year either both of the news were devoted equal amount of time or the local or weather news were given more time and the national news were given less time. It is not stated that before the past year what types of complaints came. Suppose they were equal in time distribution between the local and national news before the past year; but there is no guarantee that their viewers who like local news did not complain at that time. Because, that channel may have more audience to like local news more. The reverse may also happen that they were equal in time distribution among the two types of news but the viewers who like national news used to complain because they want to see that more often. That is why, they might have increased the devoted time of national news. So, it can not be said without evidence.

Additionally, it is stated that local business that used to advertise during their late night news program had canceled their contracts with them. It is quite vague without evidence because local business might have thought that, that station is losing their local and weather news lover audience so they canceled their contracts but on the other hand it is also possible that, this station gained huge number of audience who like national news and in a quantity that is greater than the quantity they might have lost due to reducing time in local and weather news.

It is concluded that they should restore the time to attract more viewers and to avoid losing any further advertisement revenue. But, it can not be said that their previous time schedule could attract more audiences than this current time schedule without proper evidence. And, if they stick to this time distribution then if any national unusual or interesting incident occurs then the station might gain huge audience also. Then, many other advertisement can be gained by this station also. Thus, restoring the time can resolve the matter can not be stated bluntly without proper evidences.