'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The business manager's main argument sounds reasonable: more weather/local news will attract local viewers which will bring back local businesses. However, under analysis, there are evidential flaws that make this argument less compelling.

First, the manager cites evidence that the majority of complaints about the lack of time spent on weather and local news. However, this complaints may quantifiably be insignificant to the general audience population. As a result, due to a lack of relative quantities of complaints, it is unknown whether the lack of weather and local news is a significant issue for the general audience.

Furthermore, the manager also cites evidence that local businesses are canceling advertisement contracts, leading to a decrease in revenue. Again, the number of businesses canceling contracts and the amount of revenue lost over the past year is unknown, and without significant changes in revenue and business contracts, it's unconvincing to see whether the news program needs to take financial action.

Finally, the manager claims that these changes will lead to a rise in viewers. To begin, the initial evidence provided didn't state anything about the loss of viewership, nor did it present any evidence of a decrease of viewers from the year before. This lack of evidence of viewership doesn't seem convincing to believe that the general audience population is decreasing significantly.

Overall, the argument does give a reasonable proposal with logical flow of reasoning. However, without numerical data to support its reasoning, this proposal is unconvincing, and unless significant detrimental changes are observed, the late-night news program should proceed without change.