Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors: Aleph Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders approximately 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. Aleph’s dormitory, however, has required approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years. Therefore, to construct their new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local university should hire Aleph Construction.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions in the expert’s claim. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The expert in this statement claims that the university should hire Aleph construction and not Gimmel builders to build a new dormitory with lowest overall cost. There are couple of facts provided which would support his or her claim. However, the expert seems to have neglected quite a few unwarranted assumptions. This raises some doubts about the expert’s claim.

First of all, the author has made a comparison of Gimmel Builders dormitory and Aleph Construction’s dormitory which was constructed five years ago. The expert assumes that the everything still remains same as it was five years ago. The comparison becomes irrelevant as in a period of five years many things would change ranging from the materials, costs of materials to engineers, architects and much more. Without comparing the current situation of both the construction groups it may not be viable to hire Aleph construction. There are numerous possibilities of changes after five years and if they hire Aleph construction based on facts and data from five years ago the expert’s claim may weaken.

Secondly, the expert talks about the initial costs and maintenance costs of the two dormitories. Just because the initial cost of Aleph construction was lower does not provide a strong ground for hiring them. The expert doesn’t provide with any numbers about the maintenance of the Gimmel Builders constructed dormitory and only the initial cost of building. There is a possibility that after five years the maintenance that would be required by the dormitory built by Gimmel would have the same initial cost as that of Aleph but the maintenance cost would still remain the same and less than Aleph construction. If such is the case and it proves to be true the expert’s idea of hiring Aleph construction would backfire causing them to spend more and not less.

Furthermore, there is no mention about the current conditions of the two dormitories. The expert assumes that since the dormitories built five years ago were nearly identical the condition would also remain the same. However this might not be true. The dormitory built by Aleph construction would be in a very bad condition with only a few more years before it deteriorates, while on the other hand the dormitory built by Gimmel Builders is still in pristine condition with no significant flaws and still has many more years before it starts deteriorating. The expert’s claim again would not hold water if the above mentioned condition is true. It would have adverse effects on the quality and condition on the new dormitory for trying to settle for lowest overall cost.

As of now, just because of a single factor of maintenance cost being lower the entire proposed idea to hire Aleph Construction is flawed without any further evidences. As of now there are many excluded variables which have a direct link to the experts claim. If there are more irrefutable and unwavering facts and evidences presented in support of Aleph Construction, the experts claim would then have merit.