"Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Super Screen Movie Prodcution Company advertising director concludes in the memo that a greater share of the budget should be allocated for advertising in order to reach out to the public. The director provides few evidences to support his or her claim. However, there are many unstated assumptions and unanswered questions which question whether the claim would be successful or not.

Firstly, the director mentions that fewer people attended the movies as compared to the last year. The question that arises is that 'In which all areas was the movie released in the last year? Did every movie theatre decided to show this movie?' There is a possibility that the Company had released the movies nation wide prior to last year. And this year, the movies were released only in certain parts. Since the areas where movies were released had a very low population, not many decided to watch the movies.It might be possible that the movie theatres in the vicintiy had no intention to show the movies of the company in their theatres and as a rsult even though the public being fully aware was not able to see the movie. So the fewer viewership for the movies of the company. If at all the above assumption comes out to be true, then the claim to increase the budget for advertsing would not do much,

Secondly, the director states that the percentage of positive reviews for the movie has increased. 'By what numbers has the amount of positive reviews increases? What was the percentage of postive reviews in the previous years?' This questions have not been answered in the memo. It is possible that the positive reviews prior to last year was only 20 percent which has increased to 25 percent in the past year. There is another possibility of the case that in all there were only 10 reviews for the movie and 6 out of those 10 were postive showing high percentage of positive reviews. There are numerous possibilites regarding the increase in percentage of positive reviews. There is no mentions of any kind of numbers for the same. Until numbers or statistical data is provided the claim stands weakened.

Finally, memos cites that the public lacks awareness about the good movies that are available. With this the question arises 'what kind of movies do the public like to watch? Which genre is more interesting to watch? Was the actor or actress in the movie not a favourite of the public? All these questions raise too many doubts regarding the publics' unawareness about the good movies. While there is a possibility that the company released too many movies with horror genre last year which is not at all a public favourite genre and so the less views for the movie. It might be possible that the the public had high hopes from the company and used to go to watch movies in previous years, but due to below par performance the public were disinclined from watching the movies in the past year thinking that the movies were the same as before. As mentioned earlier, public were not interested to watch movies which did not have theri favourite actor or actress and althoug being totally aware about the movies did not go to watch it. If at all the above situations prove to be true, the decision of the director would not hold water.

As of now, the conclusion of the director stands flawed due to a serious dearth of evidence. If he or she is able to provide with more irrefutable evidence and statistical date that there is unawareness among the public, it would help to bolster the decision that budget should be increased for advertising to reach out to the public.