The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in the article above concludes that Rialto Movie Theater must make big changes and offer the same features as Apex or it has to close its doors forever. The author presents evidence by giving an example of the newly opened Apex theatre. The services and the luxury provided by the Apex theatre is used by the author to support his idea of renovation for the Rialto Movie Theater. However there are few questions which arise which showcase some flaws in author’s idea of renovating the Rialto Movie Theater.

First of all, Why is Realto Movie Theater being compared with newly opened Apex theatre? The comparison done may not be relevant to the case here. Apex theatre is newly opened in a mall that is outside of the town last year. Many things change over a span of a year. The article does not provide any information or supporting ideas about why the Realto Movie Theater should make changes just because another theatre has opened last year. The Apex theatre is outside the town which may seem a bit too far for the inhabitants of the city and they prefer going to the downtown theatre instead of going out of town. If the above idea holds true then there is no need for the Realto Movie Theater to make changes and the author’s claim weakens.

Secondly, the survey conducted provides with no information about the number of people who responded or the place where they whether is it close to Apex or Realto theatre. In case the sample size for the survey was small, can a generalization be made for a myriad number of residents of the town? There is a possibility that the respondents were from a background of financial problems and cannot afford to go to movies for more than five times a year. The survey may not have included the rich populace and the cinema enthusiast who are eager for the new movie arrivals irrespective of the comfort in which they have to watch the movie. There are a lot of uncertain factors which have not been taken into account and hence weaken the authors idea.

Furthermore, the Realto Theater has been there for five decades, people may have been visiting Realto only and have taken a liking to the theatre by becoming the loyal customers. The author does not provide information regarding any increase or decrease in the Realto Movie Theater attendants due to the opening of the new Apex Theater. People who like the Realto Movie Theater’s appearance and services provided may still want to go instead of switching to a new theatre just because of the plush carpeting, seats and other luxury provided by a newly opened theatre.

Due to the lack of evidences in the article and the possible overlooked aspects which may be a key factor for not renovating the Realto Theater the conclusion as of now stands flawed. The conclusion maybe strengthened if the author happens to provide strong and irrefutable evidences. A new set of evidences or facts from surveys may effectively help the author to support the conclusion.