The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author’s argument that the Rialto must offer the same features as Apex to hold its share of moviegoers is flawed for various reasons. In the argument, the author not only draws a strong conclusion based on vague and unwarranted statements, but also tries to concludes to follow Apex without analysing the reasons for the decreasing pool of moviegoers. Furthermore, the author assumes that the Rialto Movie Theatre is similar to the Apex Theatre and the Rialto Movie Theatre can hold its share of moviegoers by following the Apex theatre which is flawed.

First, the author bases his conclusion on many vague and unwarranted statements. For example, when the new Apex theatre was opened last year with a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system, the author doesn’t consider the magnitude of the response that was received by the Apex theatre. The underlying assumption is that the reaction would not provide any information on the outcome of following the footsteps of Apex. For example, if the response of the Apex theatre is not great, it is incorrect to conclude that Rialto theatre would be able to hold its share of moviegoers by just offering the features as Apex theatre. Furthermore, when 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to movies more than five times per year in a recent survey, the author makes an assumption that the Rialto can increase its share of moviegoers by following the Apex theatre. The assumption is unwarranted because the author does not cite any evidence or analysis that relates the premise and conclusion. Since the author doesn’t provide any information about the kind of response the Apex theatre had received, analysis or evidence that can relate the survey outcome and his conclusion, it is challenging to draw such a firm conclusion.

Second, the author concludes to follow Apex theatre without analysing the reasons for the decreasing pool of moviegoers. The underlying assumption is that the reason for the decreasing pool of moviegoers would not provide any extra information in analysing the situation which is incorrect. For example, if the reason for decreasing pool of moviegoers is not related to Rialto theatre, it would not help in following the Apex theatre. If the reason for the drop is because of a decrease in the economic conditions of the people or because of the more fascinating tv shows or movies which are telecasted in television which is not related to the Rialto theatre, the author’s assumption is flawed. If the author had provided any information on the reason for the drop in the share of moviegoers, it would have been easy to conclude that Rialto theatre can hold its moviegoers by following the Apex theatre.

Third, the author assumes that the Rialto Movie Theatre is similar to the Apex Theatre irrespective of their localities which is incorrect. For example, the Apex theatre is located inside a mall which can attract more viewers compared to the Rialto Theatre because the viewers can visit the other shops and restaurants in the mall. Also, the climate outside the town can be peaceful compared to the downtown which can drive the moviegoers to prefer Apex theatre which is outside the town compared to the Rialto Theatre which is located in downtown. Since the author had not provided any information that can support his assumption that both the theatres are similar irrespective of their geographical location, it is unwise to draw a firm conclusion based on this assumption.

In conclusion, Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, the author fails to make a convincing case that the Rialto must offer the same features as Apex to hold its share of moviegoers is flawed for various reasons.