The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The issue that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that a teacher should appreciate the positive actions while explaining the negative consequences of the negative actions. While both the sides are essential, it would be handicapped to neglect either of them.

First, teaching should help a student in becoming a better individual in life. By praising someone for their positive actions, it would motivate them to indulge in similar acts. For example, if a student gets chocolate every time he tells the truth, it would motivate him to become a truthful person in life. Furthermore, if a student is praised in public for being truthful, it would inspire more students to follow him, and this has a considerable effect on the society. Hence, praising positive actions can effectively fulfill the motive of teaching.

On the other hand, ignoring negative actions would not do any good as it seems so. Instead of ignoring negative actions, if a student is taught about the negative consequences of a wrong action, it would be very helpful in avoiding or rectifying his mistakes. For example, if a student is informed about the detrimental effects of telling lies, it would not only inspire him to tell the truth, but also motivate him to restrain himself from a lie. Furthermore, a student would be afraid of indulging in negative actions, if he is aware of the consequences. Therefore, teaching the implications of the negative actions can help a student in becoming a better individual.

Also, if a student is taught only about the negative actions and their harmful effects without supporting him to do positive actions, it would be demotivating for him. For example, if we neglect the positive actions and only punish a student for his negative actions, it would be demotivating for him because he would always be scolded without any appraisal. He will consider or grasp only the negative aspects of everything which would be very dangerous. So, positive actions should be given their own weight in motivating students.

On the other hand, if a student is praised for his positive actions and neglected for the remaining, it would not help him in distinguishing between positive and negative actions because he is always getting the appraisal or nothing. For example, if a teacher concentrates only on the positive actions, students might consider that the world is filled only with the positive deeds which is not true. Also, this would not lead the student to become a better individual because the student might consider the negative actions also as positive if he is not punished for the same. So, negative actions should be given their own weight.

Therefore, in order for a student to be motivated to do positive actions and at the same time restrain himself from indulging in negative actions, he should be praised for the former and scolded or punished for the latter. Both the aspects are equally essential for the betterment of students and teaching should include both of them.