Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s argument that palean baskets were not uniquely palean is flawed for various reasons. In the argument, the author not only draws a strong conclusion based on unwarranted and vague statements, but also considers the present geographical data while concluding about baskets that were found back in the history.

First, the author based his conclusion on several unwarranted statements which are flawed. while considering the ways of crossing the brim river, the author concludes that only boats could have been used without considering other possibilities. The assumption here is that the other possibilities would not provide any information in analysing the situation which is wrong. For example, if the depth of the river is not very deep after a walkable distance along the river, the paleans could have crossed the river on foot. also, the author does not provide any information on the depth of the river along its entire path which makes it impossible to conclude that paleans could have crossed the river only on a boat. When the author cites the information that archaeologists could not find any palean boats, the author concludes that paleans would not have reached Lithosr which is unwarranted. The assumption here is that the sample of archaeologists who could not find boats can confirm that paleans did not cross the river which is unjustified. For examples, if the boats were actually present and archaeologists did not find them because they did not dig deep or they did not search across the entire river path. if the author had provided any information about how archaeologists searched for boats or cited any information which could confirm their approach to find the boats, it would have been easy to conclude that paleans would not have crossed the river.

Second, the author draws a firm conclusion based on vague or ambiguous statements. while quoting that archaeologists found a palean basket in lithos, the author does not provide any information on how similar are these baskets with that of palean baskets. The assumption here is that the similarity would not give any information in supporting or contradicting the conclusion which is unwarranted. For example, if the basket found in lithos is only one percent similar to the palean baskets, it is unwise to conclude that the basket in lithos belongs to palean baskets. because the author does not cite any information that can confirm the similarity of lithos basket with palean baskets, it is incorrect to conclude that palean baskets were not uniquely palean.

Third, the author considers the present geographical data while concluding about baskets that were found back in the history. The assumption here is that the geographical conditions do not change with time which is flawed. For example, if the depth of the river has increased recently and paleans could have crossed the river on foot, it is incorrect to conclude that paleans did not cross the river. because the author does not provide any information on the depth or the difficulty of crossing the brim river during the time of paleans, it is impossible to conclude that paleans did not cross the river. also, if there was no brim river during the paleans time, there would be no question of crossing the river and paleans could have easily reached lithos. if the author had provided information on the geographical conditions back then, it would have been easy to conclude that paleans could have crossed the river only by boats.

In conclusion, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, the author fails to make a convincing case that palean baskets were not uniquely palean.