Schools should be responsbile only for teaching academic skills and not for teaching ethical and social values

The issue of whether or not schools should be responsible for teaching ethical and social values is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that schools should be responsible for teaching ethical and social values, because the primary role of school is to prepare students for adult life. Furthermore, schools are best equipped to teach values, and many values can be presented in a neutral, open-ended manner.

First, schools have a clear mandate to prepare students for adult life. In school, students learn how to read, write and perform arithmetic, because these are vital skills for functioning as an adult. Likewise, students study history so that they can learn from the past and participate in society. Values are just as important, since they will ultimately have a significant effect on one’s adult life and on society in general. For example, someone who regards stealing as acceptable will have a much different life from someone who regards stealing as unacceptable. Moreover, one’s values regarding stealing will greatly affect society. So, given the importance of values, schools have a responsibility to teach them.

Second, teachers are professional educators and they can teach more effectively when compared to someone who does not have a professional training in teaching. Teachers are more effective because they have the relevant experience in dealing with students and choosing appropriate teaching methods according to the knowledge of their audience. For example, a teacher would be more comfortable in understanding a student and guiding him to enlightment, compared to an amateur who repeats something which is there in books. This makes them the best choice when it comes to teaching maths or values. Therefore, a better curriculum can be created if schools include values to their list of teaching topics and equip teachers with all the necessary time and material.

Third, teaching is not forcing one view. I think teaching values can not be done by repeating text from a book of values. Instead, I thin effective way of teaching is to expose students with various issues and encouraging to explore various possiblities. And this experiment can be effectively done in school because students spend most of their time in schools and students can collaborate or learn from his peers. For example, a group discussion on pros and cons of honesty among students would have more impact on a student than a book of essays on honesty. Therefore, I believe school would be the best choice for teaching values.

Some may argue that values can be taught by parents. This point is flawed because we can not assume all parents can spend time in teaching values to their children and they can be effective in demostrating the importance of values. Because parents are not trained in teaching, children can find it difficult in learning values from them. I believe that we cannot rely solely on parents when it comes to teaching and an effective teaching of values must involve both parents and teachers.

Some may argue that if schools were responsilbe for teaching values, then some teachers would impose their own beliefs on students. This point is flawed, since teachers can always impose thier values regardless of whether or not schools are responsible for teaching values. Moreover, if teaching values became the domain of schools, then a formal curriculum would help prevent teachers from imposing their values, since teachers would then be given clear guidelines regarding the ways in which values must be taught.

In conclusion, schools have an obligation to prepare students for adult life, they are best equipped to teach values, and they can present values in a neutral, all-inclusive manner. For these reasons, schools have a responsibility to teach them.