photographers color demand

The author’s argument that photographers working in color have an advantage over photographers working in black and white is flawed. In the argument, the author not only draws a conclusion based on vague and ambiguous terms, but also uses data from a limited sample to make a sweeping generalization about an entire population. Furthermore, the author makes the mistake of focusing solely on demand for color photographs while ignoring the supply of photographers working in color.

First, the author concludes that there is a higher demand for color photographs considering the demand for color photographs in limited samples like magazines, newspapers and portrait studios. The underlying assumption is that the sample data represents the entire market of color photographs. The is flawed because he considers only three consumers of color photographs when many others exist and the sample data may not represent the entire demand for color photographs. Since the author does not provide the information regarding the statistics of all the color photograph consumers, it is impossible to determine whether the demand for color photographs is higher than that of black and white photographs as the author concludes.

Second, the author concludes based on various vague or ambiguous words like success, many and more that have varied meanings leading to different interpretations. For example, success can mean monitory success or artistic success for which the author does not explain the meaning. If the success means monitory success, color photographers might have an advantage over the black and white photographers whereas, if the success means artistic success, it would be vice versa. So the author’s conclusion based on the assumption that success means monitory success is unwarranted. Also, the author does not mention the exact number of types of color films while comparing them with the number of black and white films but instead used the word more which is ambiguous. If there are 2000 types of black and white films and 2001 color films, concluding the higher demand for color photographers is flawed. The author makes a similar comparison while comparing the number of newspapers and magazines starting to use color photographs. Since the author does not provide exact statistics while comparing the data, it is not correct to firmly conclude that color photographs are in higher demand.

Third, the conclusion is based mainly on the perception that demand for color photographers is higher than the demand for black and white photographers, and the author spends much time trying to demonstrate this. In doing so, the author fails to consider or establish the number of photographers working either in color or in black and white. The underlying assumption is that the supply of photographers working in either field is irrelevant, when this assumption is unwarranted. If there already exists a large number of photographers working in color, then it might not be advantageous to work in color. On the other hand, if the supply of photographers working in black and white is significantly low, then it would be beneficial to work in black and white even if the demand for black and white photographs is lower than the demand for color photographs. Since the author does not provide any information regarding the supply of photographers working in color or in black and white, it is impossible to determine whether working in color is advantageous as the author concludes.

The argument could be strengthened if the author provided information regarding the supply of photographers working in color and in black and white. The argument could be further strengthened if the author were to define key terms as well as establish a demand for color photographs beyond that of two publishers. As it stands, however, the argument is flawed for the reasons indicated.