Photographers who work in color have an advantage over those who work in black-and-white.

The Argument that color photographers have an advantage over Black-and-white photographers is flawed. Because the conclusion is drawn from the assumption that magazines, studios and newspapers represent the whole market which is unwarranted and that it is also drawn from vague and ambiguous terms like Successful, most etc. Furthermore, the author considered only the demand of color and black- and- white photographers only, but neglected the supply of photographers in drawing the conclusion.

First assumption is that the magazines, newspapers and studios represents the entire market which is not true, for there are other publishers like books, posters etc. which also use photographs. And there is no information regarding the usage of color and Black-and-white photographs in these areas. In these areas, there can be more usage of Black-and-white photographs than color photographs which weakens the argument.

Secondly, author drawn conclusion based on vague and ambiguous terms such as successful, many, most, more. There is no information about what successful means. It can be Artistic or commercial success. And Artistic success can come from usage of black-and-white photographs rather than color photographs. Another term is many, for example take 10 newspapers, let many means 7, what about the remaining 3 newspapers? These can be popular ones and if popularity was gained by using black-and-white photographs, then they tend to use only them in future which weakens the argument.

Third assumption is that there is no competition in color photography jobs. What if many people are competing for color photography jobs and there is only few competitors for the black-and-white, then black-and-white photographers have an advantage than the color photographers.

This argument could be strengthened if the information about the supply of color and black-and-white photographers. And it could be further strengthened if he clearly defined those vague terms and he provided information about the usage of photographs in publishers other than those three. However, in current form, argument is flawed for the reasons indicated above.