The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

The issue that the general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, and scientists is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that nation's greatness can be measured only as a cumulative measure of achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, and general welfare of its people. While both the measures are essential, it would be handicapped to neglect either of them.

A nation consists of people of all kinds not only rulers, artists, or scientists. So, the nation's greatness relates to the greatness of the people of the country. I think we can safely conclude that the greatness of the people can be measured by their welfare because when the welfare of people is neglected, there would be no happiness and in turn greatness. For example, when the welfare of people is not considered significant, and people are unhappy, it is unwise just to measure the achievements of a few people and conclude that the nation is great. Therefore, the general welfare of people is the better indication of that nation's greatness.

On the other hand, greatness can only be measured in terms of achievements. As the greatness of the nation relates to the greatness of the individuals who form the nation, it would make more sense to measure it in terms of their achievements. For example, when we say a nation is great, we actually mean the people are great which can be measured in terms of their accomplishments. Hence, the nation's greatness can be measured effectively in terms of the achievements of its people who collectively form the nation.

While both the sides are right, we can not neglect any side for the measurement of the nation's greatness. As the phrase nation's greatness is constituted of two words nation and greatness, it would not make sense to neglect either of them. For example, emphasis on nation without greatness or greatness without nation does not constitute nation's greatness. If a nation has a small percentage of celebrities who are achieving in their respective fields leaving the development or prosperity of people, we can not say that the nation is great. Similarly, if a nation is generally supportive of the peoples' welfare and there have been very few achievements, we can say that the nation is welfare, and we can not label it as a great one. Therefore, I believe both the welfare and achievements of people are important to indicate the greatness of the nation.

In conclusion, as the nation consists of people, and greatness indicates achievements, the welfare of people and their achievements play an equal role in the nation's greatness.