The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

A nation's true prosperity lies in overall development of its citizen rather then accomplishments of some affluent people or potent rulers of the nation.

The nation's progress lies in the hand of its denizens. If people are bereaved of their fundamental rights thus hampering their welfare, a nation with however rich and prodigious achievers will founder into starvation, revolts against the government forced to cede to other developed nation. The history is inundated with such cases. For example the Roman empire enriched with great rulers, artist but failed to bring prosperity among its people ultimately resulting into end of their empire.

A nation can true progress only by ensuring equality among its people. laws must be enforced for educational, social and economical stability of its citizens, lacking of such laws have egregious ramifications patent in history. For example india, a nation of multicultural people still impotent to achieve equality among people - some industrialist like Mukesh Ambani are richest in the world while many people are unable to get bread for daily consumptions thus making india a still developing country despite of many Indian artists and scientists being eminent throughout the world.

However a nation's focus should only be general welfare of people but also appropriate budget to other important fields that will ultimately benefit to citizens. The government must provide resources like laboratories and research centers to scientists where they can continuously contribute in nation's progress. For example invasion of unprecedented virus into nation causing rapid infections to citizens. Without medical researches and resources provided to scientist nation would be unable to vanquish the virus thus no matter how well developed people are nation would suffer.

In conclusion the nation must ensure appropriate considerations to both general welfare of its inhabitants along with encouraging its resources like artists and scientists in their achievements for human prosperity.