The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument states that television channel devotes more time to late-night nation news abridging time for weather and local news, fomenting a dissent among audience for increasing the time of latter topics and thus concluding to restore the time alloted to weather and local news to its former level. However there are certain assumptions which are lacking the evidence for the conclusion to be correct.

First the customer have complaints regarding the weather and local news but what specific point are they complaining about. are they really upset with less news coverage on such topics? The station might be broadcasting the inaccurate weather reports, not covering the relevant topics on local news. In this case increasing the time allocation will not satisfy the alienated audience. thus the argument must emphasize the specific complaints of the audience to arrive at the stated conclusion.

Secondly the cessation of advertisement contracts lacks the reason it is due to less coverage of weather and local news. The advertisement company will have no meaning with the type of news being broadcasted by the station. it might the case, the companies received more profitable offers from other television stations. also it is given that the news are shown at late-night, this leads to less number of people watching the program fettering the dissemination of the advertisement and thus not creating awareness among huge crowd.

Third it is also possible that the audience of this television station are not pertinent for the types of product sold by the advertising companies, so companies cancelling the contract with the station instead of making futile attempts for product sales. The argument also lacks the evidence of how other television stations are performing in the market. Since the station is forecasting the news late in the night, people might have watched the news on other news channel earlier in the day. In this case the station should alter the timing of broadcast for gaining audience instead of adhering to same late timings and changing the time allocation among news type.

In conclusion, the station should answer the above assumptions with real evidences before making the decision of restoring the time of weather and local news to its former level.