The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

To begin, a nation is a community of people sharing common culture, tradition, economic and ethnic with in demarcated

territory.Certainly a Nation greatness can be vindicated by having a balance between people's welfare and achievements

of its rulers, arts, Scientists.To my opinion this standpoint can be analyzed and deliberated through a case by

case study.

A nation that is rich in achievements of its rulers ,arts,Scientists or affluent in resources may virtually

gets the accolade of being prominent or superlative all over the world,But actually it does not qualify for being great

In Retrospect,if that would have been the case Roman empires with great rulers and military power would never have fallen,

and Nazi empire with great Scientific reign would have ruled over the world ,and Similarly Russia and Arab countries

with high abundance of natural resources would have flourished. All those achievements are not at all worthful enough

to boast about if it does not look towards an welfare of its public.

Going Further when we talk about peoples welfare it encompasses overall that is economic , social ,cultural and

political wellness of its people.There should not be any discrimination on the basis of color, caste and creed

A law that would provide equal right as well as social, cultural and political freedom to each and every section of the society.

it should safeguard the need and interest of every individuals of society. To paraphrase a maxim by Mahatma Gandhi"

a nation greatness is measured how its weakest is treated".Hence poor and socially backward should be uplifted ,

they should feel left out or oppressed.

Many countries in the world in spite of affluent in art,science and resources still fails to provide even basic facilities to their citizens.For example take the case of India a developing country is rich

in culture art and science but lacks financial and social stability among its people. Same is the case of north korea

rich in military and weapons people are deprived of general freedom.In European Countries public welfare is always sought

and concerned most above anything.

Thus in a nutshell A country should always prioritize, its public welfare , growth and development. and then off course focus

towards scientific , military, artistic development and growth that would provide it eminent position in the world

and thats how it would be said great truly.