Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

To begin , Today's era where myriads of people especially millennial and z generations at one hand driven by ceaseless need for instant gratification and expectation, on the other hand easily getting succumbed to the jugulating pressure around them , often culminating into suicides, the maxim "follow your dreams" certainly felicitous and can be considered a wise way to go provided even if these are inherently selfish would not be unwholesome to society in any circumstances. The above standpoint can be analysed and deliberated on a case by case study .

Firstly, With the proliferation of stiff competition around the globe among all the working sector is certainly making it difficult

For the people to sustain the enormous pressure that directly or indirectly affect one personal and professional life . At times, also drives a sense of contrition for opting the wrong career. According to Human research Journal of Harvard, the highest percentage of suicidal attempts or growth of such tendency is observed among teenagers and sophomores , these were the cases those who could not weather the expectation of their family friends and societies, the result was more dismaying as it included the students or employees of top institutions and corporates. This certainly arises the questions would the aforementioned scenario have been same if these teenagers and adults would have been encouraged and espoused emotionally, mentally, economically to follow the career of their choice and dream. Plausibly, for a person pursuing his passion would not have fetched him fat earning but at least he would be self-satisfied and enjoying the work he dreamt to do.

Going further, Obviously the worthiness of a career cannot be decided on the basis, how much a person is financially stable, and varies from an individual to individual. Thus, Even if person dream is inherently selfish until and unless it is not impecunious to the society, it should always be buttressed with. For example if a child after completing his early education want to pursue career in entertainment, sports field, their parents should respect their choice and render at most support and guidance to achieve them, on the other hand child also has onus to not opt any career which could have negative impact around them, this is where the family should guide puerile protect them from not getting attracted towards wrong career path.

For example running drug cartel, gangster groups, illegal rackets to which youths of todays are getting easily attracted.

To sum up, in an effort to lead a happier and stress free life it is better to follow the career of dream as well as understanding it should not be harmful to people and society around them .