Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether picking worthy goal is a better option for a child rather that following his dream. Indisputably, sometimes child are influenced by many bad culture or illicit activities and this could encourage them to dream to do some illegal activities. Nevertheless, that is a very rare case because children are supervised by their parent; so they seldom will be exposed to thus materials. They will actually be exposed to ubiquitous materials around them and grow interest about some of the things around him. And eventually will think of himself to pick a dream for his future of his liking. Thus, I generally disagree with the claim that children should be advised to pick worthy goals and would argue that they should be given the liberty of picking their future themselves.

First of all, dreams are meant to be selfish. They are the canvas where a child draws his future self. I would like to point out that when a child given some particular goals and told to pick one of them, they are actually being humiliated. To illustrate, let us look at the example of an artist who is given a pen without ink to draw on a already drawn picture. In this circumstance, it is obvious that, he can't draw anything with the empty pen and the dreawing will remain as it was. This is kind of humiliation for the artist. Consequently, obviously for a child to pick a predetermined goal is like not dreaming of anything at all. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that, they are injurious to the mental health of a child.

Admittedly, some of the dreams can be infectious for the society as well as the country. This is true specially when a child's dream are related to some criminal activities. In addition, they are very bad for the child as well. However, I would still disagree with obliging them to pick a worthy goal and would encourage them to pick their dreams. Because, here worthy goal is set by the society which actually can be unworthy for the child.

In conclusion, I would say that every individual should be let to pick their own goal. As long as some measurements are performed and some areas are involved, this claim would hold true.