Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The given claim might not be completely obvious to the given emphasis, as under some conditions it might lead to vague interpretations. Although, goals for different individuals might differ based on their preferences, we cannot necessarily define them to be selfish.

The given advice, 'Follow your dreams' might sometimes lead young people to be successful in their futures, while it might also lead them to some undesired consequences. Young people, often, are motivated by the environment around them, which further lead them to undertake decisions which are completely not aligned to which they wish to pursue their futures towards. Hence, young people must align their dreams based on the field in which they wish to pursue their careers in.

Although the given claims seems to be a little vague with respect to the claim above. Since dreams for different individuals might differ based on their personal choices, it is completely absurd to say that many people's dreams are inherently selfish. Not all of the young people might wish to contribute to society. Some of them might have their own personal choices based on their own conditions to pursue their careers. Hence, dreams are selfish with respect to people might be a completely obvious statement in regards with the dreams of young people.

Counselling might play a major role for the given claim. Sometimes, young people waiver between equally favorable options to pursue their dreams. In such cases, peers or elders might prove to be useful for them to align their goals with respect to their fields of interest. Hence, for some cases 'follow your dreams' might require some help from peers to convert it into worthy goals.

Hence, the given claim might prove to be correct under some circumstances, while it might be completely absurd for some of the cases stated above. Reason seems to be completely vague with respect to the given claim. Not all worthy goals aim to contribute towards society, some might be out of one's selfish desires.