Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

The issue that laws and the legal systems cannot solve many problems of modern society is a contentious one. As laws govern people, and the legal system punishes people for not following a rule, I believe that they solve or avoid most of the problems.

First, If there are no laws that can govern people, there would be more problems. People cannot lead a peaceful life if there are no laws to guide them. For example, if there is no law against stealing, everyone may consider stealing as acceptable, and there will be chaos in society. One more example would be about telling lies. If there is no law against telling lies, people can get false evidence, and criminals can escape from the judiciary. So, I think laws are required to avoid many problems in society.

Second, if there is no legal system to punish criminals, there would be hazardous implications on society. Criminals would not be afraid of indulging in immoral activities if there is no legal system which will have negative implications on society. For example, if there is no legal system, a murderer would not be afraid of killing a president, and a thief would not be scared of robbing which would result in chaos. Therefore, I think the legal system is required and has avoided many problems in society.

On the other hand, someone can argue that punishing cannot change the people’s mind. Because punishing people for not following a rule can result in some cases, it may not change their minds always. Although the point is correct, we do not have an alternative solution always. For example, if there is a criminal who is notorious for his crimes, punishing may not be useful in changing his mind. However, I do not think there is an alternative for punishing in this case because we can not follow a customised rule for every case. If there is a direct alternative for punishing which can change people’s mind from indulging in immoral activities, we can follow that. Furthermore, because of the laws and legal system people can restrain themselves from unethical activities which avoid many problems.

Also, someone may further argue that the principles and guidelines can be included in a religion which can guide an individual instead of formal laws. Including principles into a religion can motivate most of the people but, we can not assume that everyone following a religion would follow the principles included in it. For example, if we have incorporated ten thousand principles into a religious book as the guidelines, we cannot conclude that everyone who has read the book would follow every principle in it. Furthermore, as long as there is no legal system which can punish them for not following a rule, it is impossible for anyone to follow all the principles. Hence, I think although laws and the legal system can not solve or avoid all the problems, we can not rule them out.

In conclusion, as laws govern people, the legal system punishes people for not following a rule, I believe that they solve or avoid most of the problems. Because they can not change people's mind always, we can not conclude that they can not solve all the problems.