Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s argument that the only cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle is due to the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve is flawed for various reasons. In the argument, the author not only bases his conclusion on vague and unwarranted statements, but also concludes that the only reason for the elimination is due to the larger number of predators without any justification.

First, the author bases his conclusion on vague statements. While he quotes that the eastern preserve has less rainfall, the author does not define the statistical measure of the difference in the rainfall. The assumption is that the exact measure would not provide any extra information in analysing the situation which is incorrect. For example, if the difference in rainfall is considerably less that can affect the gazelle, it is unwise to conclude that the reduction in rainfall is unrelated to the elimination of gazelle. Because the author does not provide any information which can confirm that the decrease in rainfall has not affected gazelle, it is difficult to conclude that the rainfall shortage is unrelated to the elimination.

Second, the author concludes that the only reason for the elimination is due to the larger number of predators without any justification. The author does not try to analyse the real reason for the elimination and concludes that the predators are the only reason which is incorrect. The assumption here is that there are no other reasons for the elimination which is unjustified. For example, the reason for the elimination is not due to the predators, but because of the smaller number of species on which gazelle can feed. Because the author does not cite any information that can directly relate the elimination to the larger number of predators, it is impossible to justify the author’s conclusion.

Third, the author does not consider the other differences in the preserves except for climate which is incorrect. The assumption here is that western preserve is similar to the eastern preserve in all other aspects which is unjustified. For example, if the water reserves in the eastern preserve are far less than that of the western preserve which in turn caused the elimination of gazelle, it is not wise to assume that both the preserves are same and the other differences in the preserves would not have affected the elimination of gazelle. Because the author does not provide any information on the differences in the preserves except for climate, and does not cite any information which can confirm that only climate can affect the elimination of gazelle, it is challenging to conclude that the elimination is the caused solely by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Fourth, the author bases his conclusion on the number of the predators in eastern preserve without enumerating the number of predators. The assumption here is the exact number of predators would not provide information which can be helpful in analysing the reason for the elimination which is wrong. For example, if the number of predators is only slightly high which can not lead to the elimination of gazelle, it is incorrect to conclude that they are the only reason. Because the author does not provide the statistical measure of the number of predators in eastern preserve, it is impossible to firmly conclude that the larger number of predators has caused the elimination of western gazelle.

In conclusion, Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, the author fails to make a convincing case that the virtual elimination of western gazelle is due to the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.