Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may seem that disappearance of gazelle must have been causedd by larger number of predators in the eastern province but there is lot of weaknesses in the argument.

It is stated that 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean, but the age or health of theses gazellas is not mentioned. Maybe most of the gazellas imported were old and weak. Maybe gazellas were weak and suffering from diseases before they were transferred. Also all of the gazelles imported can be of same gender, that would made it impossible for this gazelles to mate with each other and produce children. Gazellas in the eastern province are close relative to western province, but it is not known if they can mate with each other.

Moreover, climate conditions in eastern provonce is somewhat similar to western province, rain is little less. Maybe gazellas require even more rain for survival than in western province, slight reduction in rain would have made them more vulnerable. Maybe the number of gazellas was already on decline in western province due to less rainfall, and even slight less reduction in rainfall would have made their.

Furthermore, it is written eastern province contains most of the species that are found in western province, which means it does not contain all species of western province. Maybe the species on which gazellas fed are not present in this area. Gazellas would have died because of starvation.

Additionally, it is not mentioned if the population of only gazellas is reduced or population of other large animals is also reduced. Reduction in population can be due to presence of hunters or poachers. There may be natural disaster or disease epidemic that might have reduced the populations of animals