Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in lar

The author asserts that the elimination of western gazelles is due to the larger number of predators in the Eastern Palean Preserve since the only difference between their original habitat and the new one is the number of the same species. However, the assertion is unpersuasive as it is based on questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes that the Eastern gazelle might mingle with its relatives, the Western gazelles. However, it might not necessarily true. Due to the limited food source etc, the Western gazelle might not welcome the newcomers to their habitat. If so, the Eastern gazelles might not have been able to find food sources against the Western gazelles that they become dead due to hunger. Therefore, the author should consider the possible conflict between the eastern and the western gazelles as a reason to strengthen its argument.

Second, the author presumes that the larger predators were lack of preys in the first place. Nevertheless, it was assumed by the author. It could have been that they had enough preys to feed on before the move of the western gazelles to the Eastern wildlife preserve. As a result, even though the number of predators was larger, they would not intensively hunt for the western gazelles. Thus, the author should provide information related to the ratio of the predators of the gazelles and its preys to substantiate its argument.

Third, the author supposes that slight reduction in the rainfall cannot be the cause of virtual elimination. However, this new climate provided a totally different environment to the western gazelles. For example, it is possible that the western gazelles, unlike the eastern gazelles, cannot withstand the dryness in the air due to differences in hair, nostril structure etc. This slight changes in dryness could have affected much to the western gazelles. Therefore, the author should provide evidence that the slight change in the rainfall did not affect the western gazelles.

To sum up, the author should provide information related to the possible conflict with native gazelles, the ratio of predators and preys in the Eastern Wildlife Preserve, and the influence on the western gazelles due to the diminished rainfall to corroborate its argument.