Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Government's work should be monitored by the public. Usually, media broadcasts the new policies and projects planned by the government. In doing the work representative of the public, it is the right and obligation of democratic citizens to look an eye on the work of their leaders. However, not every information should be open to the public for the social stability and national security.

Admittedly, concealing information from the public has a potential of political corruption. This is because people can earn money from holding information about developments. For instance, when there will be a development in a certain region, only those with information knows that the real estate price would soar up in that area. Thus, the political leaders often caught buying the buildings or lands in the potential development region which they tried to blow up their fortunes. Therefore, this kind of administrative information could be shared with the public to prevent the corruption followed.

However, except from this money-related cases, in most events, political leaders' work are of a crucial characteristic to nation's security. If secretive information related to military and intelligence agencies are open to anyone, it will be hard for the agencies to work against the possible enemy countries. For instance, when a nation under a war with another nation, set a military plan and it was revealed to the public and also by the enemy country, the enemy country will protect in advance and make the plan invaluable. Therefore, these information related to the national security should be confined from the public use.

Besides, the public, compared to the political leaders, are lack of professional knowledge to deal with information. It is easy to make a rumors about the policy and disrupts the social stability. For instance, when U.S and Korea was made free trade agreement, people easily believed the rumor that beefs from the U.S. is from the ill cows that eating those beefs would make one get the same disease in the brain. Many people assured that the rumor was right without appropriate evidence and protested against the government. Even though now, no one believe that was reasonable, at that time, public response was rather irrational and impetuous. Therefore, the lack of knowledge in the issue might lead the public misinterpret the information and make a social unrest.

To sum up, the sharing of information with the public can be positive considering its benefit to prevent corruption. However, considering the potential of attack on national security and the social unrest caused by misinterpretation of the information, it is desirable that the political leaders withhold information with discretion.