The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

When deciding the greatness of a country, one might look at the level of economic development or the status of social welfare as a major standard. However, there is a fierce disagreement among people, often among politicians, about which one comes first, the achievements of leaders or the welfare of people. In this essay, I will argue why the welfare of the general public is a better indicator of a good nation.

Admittedly, the achievement by leaders can indicate the greatness of a nation. When looking at popular countries, like the United States or Italy, they tend to have great leaders and artists whose achievement in one’s field is admirable. For instance, in the United States, Abraham Lincoln’s Emancipation Proclamation enabled the equal citizenship for the African-Americans. His contribution for the equal citizenship in the United States is still admired and he was selected as the most admired president of the country. In addition, in Italy, many people admire the country where the home of great artists such as Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo. Therefore, great nations are those who had great leaders to be admired by people.

However, the welfare of people is a more reliable standard determining the greatness of a nation. For example, in the 1970s of South Korea, Park Jung-hee was using more power than the president are supposed to be. To enlengthen his presidency, he corrected Korean Constitution several times and suppressed the voice from the opposition party. Even though his great achievement of rapid economic development, his authoritarian government degraded the virtue of democracy severely and the illegal behavior is criticized by people who see the history. When achievements of elites are emphasized as an indicator of a great nation, it might justify leaders' infringement on the value of democracy. Besides, countries in northern Europe, such as Finland and Sweden, they have a higher status of welfare. People living in those countries have the higher rate of education and less rate of inequality among people. Elderly can gain enough amount of income which enables them to remain healthy in their late years. This country often shows a higher level of happiness and satisfaction for one’s life. For this reason, people's welfare is much more reliable standard to determine the greatness of a nation.

Nevertheless, I cannot fully agree that those two indicators of great nations are separated. Rather, they are inextricably intertwined that they should be considered together. In most countries where the social services are well provided, they might have great achievements in different sectors. For instance, in Finland, they are well-known for the excellent welfare of its people but this could be achieved by the well-thought education policies by its politicians. Besides, in the 18th century, thanks to the development of the steam engine by James Watt, U.K could develop more rapidly than other countries and initiated Industrial Revolution. If scientists were not endeavoring to the invention of steam engine, people in U.K would not have enjoyed its status as the world leading country. Besides, the invention of the light bulb by Thomas Edison could enable people to do something even in the night time. As it is proved in these examples, the welfare and achievement influence each other.

In sum, the welfare of general public and achievement of leaders are closely interconnected that it seems implausible to argue for one option.