The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Bargain Brand Cereals."One year ago we introduced our first product, 'Bargain Brand' breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal compani

The author suggests that Bargain Brand Cereals should expand its business and promote other low-priced food products of the company considering its recent success of the low-priced cereals. However, the argument is unpersuasive as it is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes that the success of the cereals is due to its low price. However, just because the low price coincides with the success of the cereal does not mean that the latter was caused by the former. Maybe there are other reasons for its popularity among consumers such as its quality or special recipe. Without evidence to preclude the other possibilities, the author's argument is feeble. The correlation was made into the causation relationship by the author. Therefore, the author should provide information regarding the reasons for the success of the cereal product.

Second, the author presumes that the cereal could sustain its success against the other low-priced cereals by the rival companies. However, the profitability may not necessarily because they sustained their sales but other factors like economies of scale. It is likely that after the launching of other low-priced cereals, the sales volume of Bargain Brand Cereals were diminished but the company could still earn profits due to its low cost of production. If consumers change from the Bargain Brand Cereal to other low-priced products, it must be hard to guarantee its success in the future. Therefore, the author should provide information related to the changed sales volume after the rival's new strategy.

Third, the author supposes that other products will be successful with the low-price strategy as cereals. However, the author did not mention any similarities between cereals and other products. If there is not similar characteristic, it can be best termed as hasty generalization. Thus, the author should provide the similar characteristics between cereals and other food products.

To sum up, the author's argument needs to solve the assumptions above to guarantee the credibility of the argument. If not, the suggestion must be ill-advised.