The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president."In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their

The vice president of the Climpson Industries suggests that the internet use of the employees should be monitored since their personal use of it reduces the productivity of the company. However, the argument is unpersuasive as it is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes that the hours spent on the internet reduces the productivity. However, is it necessarily the cause and the only cause? It is possible that the time spent on the internet is beneficial to refresh their minds and increase the work efficiency. In addition, there can be other factors that affect the work efficiency of the employees. For instance, due to the lack of strong leadership in the office, employees feel less motivated to work hard. Or, the machinery in the office is broken that they are not working hard for the moment. Likewise, there can be many other reasons which damage the productivity of the employees. Thus, the author should examine other possible reasons for the low productivity.

Second, if the productivity is low due to the hours spent on the internet, it is unplausible that the monitoring on the internet could solve the problem since there can be other sources for the internet. Instead, employees might bring their own computers or use the mobile phones to do shopping or games. If so, the electronic monitoring only on the computers from the workstations might not reduce the time they spend for personal reasons. Therefore, the author should take into account for the other possible ways to the internet to strengthen the argument.

Lastly, even if the electronic monitoring well controlls the internet uses, it might not increase the productivity. Perhaps, employees would find out other ways to stay away from the work. Instead of surfing online, they may look at the monitor without focusing, or take coffee breaks more often. Even some employees, who feel uncomfortable about being monitored, become less loyal to the company. Thus, the author should provide information related to the other ways to spend work hours for not work-related matters.

To sum up, the author needs to answer aforementioned questions to improve the argument. If not, the suggestion might remain ill-advised for the productivity of the company.