'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The business manager of a television station asserts that they should restore the time they used to devote to weather and local news a year ago. This sounds unpersuasive since it is based on unplausible assumptions and it requires more evidence to strengthen the argument.

First, the arguer assumes that the complaints about the less coverage in weather and local news were great during the past year. However, the complaints might have been meager in number. Perhaps, before the change, the complaints were mostly related to the less coverage in the national news and they are now all gone. Therefore, even though the most of the complaints were about the less coverage of the local news, it might have been few in number. Thus, the author should provide evidence related to the number of the complaints related to the local news before and after the change.

Second, the arguer presumes that the local business withdraws its advertising due to the less coverage of local news. However, it is uncertain whether the reduced time is the direct cause for canceling the contract with the station. It is possible that the businesses have found better advertising media with cheaper price. In addition, they might have decided that the advertising in the news was not conducive to their profits. Thus, the author should provide information related to the alternative causes for the canceled advertisements.

Third, the arguer supposes that the station's revenue from advertising reduced since they lost contracts with local businesses. However, it might not necessarily true. The whole revenue from advertising might have increased. It is likely that the businesses who wish to advertise during the national news made new contracts with the station. If the revenue from new contracts outnumbered the loss from lost contracts, the whole revenue might not have decreased at all. Therefore, the author should provide evidence regarding the new contracts and the revenue from them as well.

To sum up, the argument needs more evidence related to the changed number of complaints, the causes for the lost contracts, and the change in whole revenue to strengthen its argument.