In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes littl

The author asserts that the city government should appropriate more budget on the riverside recreational facilities at Mason River since the use of them by the residents will sure to increase after the clean-up of the river. However, this argument is based on several questionable assumptions that need to be verified to strengthen the argument.

First, the author assumes that the river is not used for the recreational purposes due to its poor water quality. However, there might be other reasons for the river not being used. Perhaps, the depth or the speed of the river flow is too deep and fast that it might be dangerous to use for the recreational purpose. Or, there might be a famous river site in the near city that many residents go there during the vacation instead of using the Mason River. That is, the river quality might not be the reason for the river to be rarely used. If so, even if the government proceed the plan successfully to clean up the river, the use of the river for recreational use might not increase as the author expected.

The second assumption by the author is that the recreational facilities of the Mason River are in the poor conditions since the lack of budget used for their maintenance. However, the low budget does not mean that the bad conditions of the facilities. Rather, there might be no need to use much money on the facilities since it is well managed with a little budget until now. If that is the case, the more devotion of budget for the facilities will be unnecessary and even result in the waste of money in the inappropriate places.

Lastly, the author presumes that the recreational facilities in the Mason River are used for the water sports that residents like. According to the survey, the favorite recreational activities among the citizens were swimming, boating, and fishing. It is likely that those activities do not need recreational facilities much. Thus, even if the two above assumptions are proven to be true, it is uncertain whether the recreational facilities will be used by the residents.

To sum up, the author needs to check the aforementioned assumptions not to waste time and money of government in the unnecessary project.