"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Some people think people have different abilities to perform a certain activity. Others think that is not because of different ability but it is just that they have different talents that they can excel at. Thus, the latter group thinks a desirable society should encourage every individual with different potential and talent to contribute to the improvement of the society. I agree with the latter and the following essay will argue why that is.

Admittedly, competition can become a boost for the improvement since competition is not only comparing oneself with others but also comparing oneself of yesterday to oneself of today. This is because, at the base of the sense of competition, there lies a sense of becoming better. And this strong sense of competitiveness led many leaders in society to made a striking achievement. For instance, Samsung was started with a small enterprise mainly selling the food products in the 1960s. Their rank was low in the first place. However, with the strong sense of competition with other companies, they defeated the others and won. Thus, the success of the company could be reasoned for the competitive character of the leaders.

However, competition has more harms than the advantages considering that when it goes in a bad way, it can become a self-destructive thing. Like you can see from the elitism when one is too excellent than others, they easily fall into the thought that they are more important than others and become arrogant rather than being cooperative. In contrast, when the progress or the performance of one is too sluggish than others, they become easily dismayed and lose the inspiration for the achievements.

In contrast, leaders with the sense of the cooperation can find that everyone has talents in different areas. When one finds the thing that one can do their best and cooperate, the best result can be made. This is actually the way the society works. Our society is so complex that it is unlikely that the one excellent person to solve the whole problems successfully. Rather, when different points of view are gathered, it becomes possible to find the solution with a comprehensive perspective. Therefore, the cooperation is more important and crucial to solving complex problems in the real world.

To sum up, the leaders with the sense of cooperation can perform better at dealing with complex issues with the help of people rather than those with the sense of competition, who can become arrogant and dogmatic to one's belief.