It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Compromising one’s belief will be followed by a lot of defamation on one’s reputation. However, it is not necessarily true that the adherence is not harmful as well and sometimes, compromising is less harmful than the adherence to one’s beliefs. The following essay will argue why that is.

Admittedly, compromising one’s belief can bring a huge damage to some people who need people’s support. For instance, politicians who changed one’s political stance since its original party was suffering from the political crisis, will lose his or her existing popularity. This applies the same to the musicians who changed its major genre from rock to pop music. Fans who liked the rock music of them might stop listening to their music after the change. However, the compromising behavior also presents an opportunity to the failing politicians and musicians as they move toward the trend of the society. The politician could become popular again for new political stance and it is likely that the musician becomes successful thanks to its new songs which were better than people expected.

Likewise, those who compromise do better off than those who stuck to one’s belief. For instance, during the Japanese Colonial Period, many pro-Japanese people in Korea could escape from their violence and earn a decent job and money. However, those who keep refusing to the subjugation to the Japanese power, they lost all of their jobs and could not make a success while they are alive. In addition, social activists in the authoritarian government, they had to face severe oppression by the authority. Many people are tortured and die in jail. Therefore, in an unjust society, it can be more harmful to adhere to one’s belief than compromising it.

To sum up, keeping one’s belief is an admirable stance for people, but it is more likely to be harmful to its life when the majority or the powerful is against the belief. Therefore, it is less harmful to compromise one’s belief in the society.