In this age of intensive media coverage it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero

Some people think that today, due to the intensive media coverage, the hero is more likely to be described as an intimate person who we find every day. However, it is not necessarily true. I believe the intensive media coverage enabled the society to find many heroes who were not easily detected before.

Admittedly, the intensive coverage of people allowed us to look more closely on their characters and personalities. Media often broadcast the great people's weird habit or weakness for the entertainment purpose. This makes us think that the great people are not much of a difference from us. However, the idolization of a person is not always necessary for us to feel that person as great. Rather, we are more impressed by the weakness of the hero since we can think them as a human who has a small disadvantage like everyone but achieved the great success.

Besides, the intensive coverage by the media enabled the ordinary people to become admired in our society. The news about people who saved or helped people are broadcasted many times. For example, we can see a fire fighter who saved many people against the fiery fire and the barber shop owner took care of the juveniles who were lost in the street. They are highly regarded as a hero of the society since they contributed to the society in the behind scenes. Likewise, thanks to the intensive coverage on the ordinary people by the media, they could become the heroes of the society.

Furthermore, the intensive coverage on the international figure also allowed foreigners to regard him or her as a hero of the international world. For instance, Aung San Suu Kyi is the international symbol of a nonviolent democratic movement. She did not surrender to the oppression under the authoritarian government of Myanmar for decades. For her conviction to the nonviolent democracy, international society gave her a peace prize several times and she also could gain the support not only from the the country but from the people all over the world. If there was no intensive coverage on the track of her non-violent movement for the democracy, she could not have become the hero of the international society.

To sum up, the intensive media coverage encouraged the society to regard more living man and woman as a hero, than the opposite. Ordinary people in the corners could be detected by the media that their courage and the benevolence could be highly respected in the society. Plus, the intensive figure on the international figure also made them as a new hero of the public. Therefore, it seems the erroneous to assert that the intensive media coverage prevented the emergence of a hero in the society.