The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

Education on history is important since it is the track of thousands of years and the experiences and knowledge are informative still in the contemporary society. Some people say the history enable us to imagine the lives of our ancestors and realize that their lives were not very different from us. However, the main benefit of learning the history might lie in realizing that our ancestors achieved astonishing developments.

Admittedly, we can find similarities with ancestors from historical documents about their lives. For instance, the history of the transaction started a long time ago. Ancestors traded their products in a market and used currency after the development of it. Still, many market places exist as a historical place. Also, seeing how the servants of an ancient kingdom monitored the central force of the king, we can relate that to current monitoring agencies against the president. Likewise, learning that the basic structure of society stems from the ancient lives, we can relate us to the people in the old days.

However, even though ancient society and contemporary society share similar characteristics to some point, they can show a significant difference after developments through times. The development of transaction and democracy was revolutionary during the modern days. Now, we have a financial market which transacts derivatives which are intangible assets, and thousands of money is invested and moves under the complex system. Similarly, the development of Congress and legal tools to prevent the authoritative power of the ruler became much more sophisticated. Therefore, students who learn the traditional market and political system might think that the contemporary society experienced significant developments from the earlier days.

Moreover, learning the history of times with different ideologies might strikingly isolate students themselves from their ancestors. For instance, during the cold war period, people living under the capitalist regime hated those under the communist regime. They attack each other with military forces. Unlike nowadays, when most of the countries adopted capitalism as their system, the controversy between two different systems was so severe that it led to many wars between countries. It is hard for the contemporary people to relate themselves with those who lived in the cold war period, who lived under the fear of possible wars every day. Rather, learning the history of cold war, students might learn that there is a huge difference on thoughts and lifestyles from them. Therefore, learning history might enlighten students that their lives are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

To sum up, learning history could enable us to find similarities with our ancestors about basic lifestyles. However, considering that history is about learning revolutionary developments in the society, students will notice that there exists a huge difference between their lives and those of ancestors thanks to the political, economic, or social development. Moreover, considering that the modern days encountered many wars and ideological conflicts, the difference is rather significant. Therefore, students might find themselves living in a very different world with their ancestors.