The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of the clothing company contends that they should resume their production of alpaca coat which had been discontinued five years ago due to the unavailability of high-quality wool fabric The availability of a new supplier was cited as a reason of recommencement of production. The arguer utilizes two assumptions to conclude that the coats will sell very well in the market. The first assumption is that there is a pent-up customer demands in the market on the alpaca coat because neither they nor their competitor have not made the coat in the recent past. The second assumption is that consumer would be willing to pay higher price as the overall price for clothing has increased in the past five years. Despite the assumptions made by the arguer, the argument is fallacious in several respects.

First, the author argued that the new fabric supplier is reliable one for high quality wool fabric.. However,there is not enough information related to the quality nor the reliability of the fabric supplied by the new supplier.As long as the quality of the new fabric is now known, it would be erroneous to say the fabric is of good quality. Additionally, even if the quality of the fabric supplied by the supplier is good, there is no proof whether it is good enough to meet the standard of the company leading to problems in the production of alpaca coats of the company. Furthermore, even if the fabric can meet the company’s standars, it is not know about the credentials of the company, whether it can meet the deadlines of supplies. Therefore, the argument that they should resume the production of alpaca coats because they have a new fabric supplier is fallacious due to lack of information.. Therefore, whether the new supplier would provide fair quality of wool fabric in a reliable way will strengthen or weaken the author’s assertion.

Second, the author insisted that there will be considerable demand on the alpaca overcoat because it has not been supplied neither by them nor their competitors for the recent past. It sounds plausible, however, it is not necessarily true. It is likely thatthe demand on the alpaca coat does not exist as it is replaced by a new product with better quality but lower price. Additionally, it is possible that the alpaca coat is not in vogu that is demand has diminished. Therefore, whether there exists a pent-up demand on the alpaca overcoat will corroborate or damage the author’s argument.

Finally, the author contends that consumer should be willing to pay significantly higher price for the alpaca overcoat since the market price for most of the clothing has risen continually during the last five years. However, it is uncertain whether this will be applicable to the alpaca overcoat. It is likely that the alpaca overcoat is already expensive that it is unlikely for people to choose to buy it at a higher price. Rather, people might choose to buy alternative to the alpaca coat which cost less. Additionally, if there is lack of consumer demand during the past five years, will there be demand for the alpaca coat at such higher price? Furthermore, if the price of fabric wool is very high, it is unlikely that the company would accrue profits by selling alpaca coat. In consequence, whether the assumption that the company would increase its profits by selling alpaca coats is unjustifiable.

To sum up, the author should provide information about the reliability of the new supplier, actual demand on the alpaca overcoat in the market, and the plausibility of increasing the price of alpaca overcoat to strengthen its argument.