Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

The topic suggests that the aim of scientific research should be to benefit as many as people they can. However, I largely disagree with the issue for several reasons. The following essay will argue why.

Admittedly, when the research is on the urgent need and poses threat to huge number of people, the research which benefit as many as people might be prioritized. For instance, when the new epidemic disease such as SARS or a new type of flu occurred, the scientists and researchers should develop a new vaccine and medicine to prevent further spread of the disease since it threatens millions of lives on earth. However, when there is enough time and budget, it is unjustifiable to confine the research area to those with a public purpose.

That is because research does not always target the general public. In many cases, research sheds lights on non-human world. For instance, environmental scientists, they focuses on the ecosystem. They examine the relationship between organisms in a certain ecosystem and discover ways to prevent sources of ecosystem destruction. These research does not give direct benefits to people, however, they are necessary to solve environmental problems in the future. Therefore, even though the scientific research is not giving the immediate impact on the public, it is crucial and required for the future.

In addition, it is uncertain whether the right of the minority can be ignored by the concerns of the majority of people. Should patients suffering from rare disease, such as dyslexia, deserve to be left uncured since there is not many people suffering? Maybe not. Every individual has the equal right to be treated with equal level of attention and thus the research on these rare disease should be conducted as well. That is, based on the equal right of individuals, it is unjust for researchers to focus on major issues.

To sum up, the topic is widely accepted, but it should not be the norm for scientific research. This is because the research is not only done for human, but also for the non-human beings, and the right of every individual is equal. Therefore, it is undesirable to confine the purpose of every research to benefit as many as people.